When? It’s all over!

Ian began his challenge, which amounted to a total of 1543 lengths or just over 22 miles, at Bramley Baths in West Yorkshire on Thursday 24 July 2008. Over the following 36 days, he visited all 14 listed Victorian and Edwardian public swimming pools in England and swam a length for every year each pool has been open.


    Ian's programme

    Date
    Pool
    Length
    Age
    Distance

    Thursday 24 July
    7pm

    Bramley Baths, West Yorkshire23m104 years2392m
    Monday 28 July
    12 Noon
    Beverley Road Baths, Hull, East Yorkshire
    25m
    103 years
    2575m
    Wednesday 30 July
    7pm
    Camberwell Leisure Centre, London
    25m
    117 years
    2925m
    Friday 1 August
    8pm
    Chelsea Sports Centre, London
    25m
    108 years
    2700m
    Monday 4 August
    11am
    Batley Baths, West Yorkshire
    23m
    115 years
    2645m
    Tuesday 5 August
    12 Noon
    Queensbury Pool, Bradford
    15m
    117 years
    1755m
    Wednesday 6 August 12 NoonManningham Baths, Bradford
    18m105 years
    1890m
    Thursday 7 August
    Aston University Sports Centre, Birmingham
    25m
    106 years
    2650m
    Friday 8 August
    7am
    Moseley Road Baths, Birmingham21m
    100 years
    2100m

    Tuesday 12 August
    1.30pm

    Tunstall Pool, Stoke-on-Trent23m
    119 years
    2737m
    Tuesday 19 August
    7.30pm
    St Luke's Pool, Brighton
    15m
    105 years
    1575m
    Friday 22 August
    7pm
    Kings Hall Leisure Centre, London25m
    111 years
    2775m
    Wednesday 27 August
    3.30pm
    Health Hydro, Swindon33m117 years3861m
    Friday 29 August
    6.30pm
    Dulwich Leisure Centre, London25m116 years2900m


    Total1543 years
    35.5km

    Monday 1 September, 2008

    More recent item: Grand finale of 1000 Year Swim
    Earlier item: What people have been saying about the 1000 year swim challenge


    © 2017 The Victorian Society

    75 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ. T 020 8994 1019. E admin@victoriansociety.org.uk

    Charity No. 1081435. Company No. 3940996. Registered in England. Office as above.

    Make an online donation to the Victorian Society processed securely by PayPal.


    This website uses cookies. Please see our privacy page for details.